Spoilers

Okay, so I had the pleasure of watching this beautiful piece of storytelling yesterday and, I have to say, I was blown away. Usually when I go to watch movies I watch movies linked with a franchise, like the Marvel or Jurassic World, and I know that they’re gonna be good – except for Fantastic Four (which I don’t dislike as much as other people do). Therefore, this being a new concept and idea, I had no idea on how it was going to be. I thought it would be good but the film was just beautiful; visually and story wise.

First of all I have to talk about Mark Watney – played, ever so well by the talented; Matt Damon. And can I just say, he really carried this film. It was amazing. You realise, he doesn’t interact with another human being, properly, from the end of the first 10 minuted to the last 10 minutes. That can, honestly, make a story dull and boring and not enjoyable to watch. It needs a great actor, coupled with a great character. Fortunately, this was. You really get to see how great the human survival instinct is when watching Mark Watney. He just wants to get home. But he doesn’t just sit there moping about how impossible it is, and how he’s gonna die. No, this character realises ‘I’m not gonna die here’ and he constantly worked unbelievably hard to get one step closer to staying home, and staying alive. All of the characters in this film were amazing. But yeah, I just have to point out the unbelievable intelligence, but also the will and the humour and the beauty of this character. I mean, he has to pull a pipe out of his abdomen, then grab a broken piece with,essentially, a pair of tweasers, the staple the wound; all by himself. I was very impressed with Matt Damon in this role and I was with him all the way. And he just showed every emotion that you would feel, in every single situation he was left in – good or bad.

Onto the plot. Now, as I say, I was with this movie every step of the way. And what I loved is that the movie didn’t spend a year explaining the story. Nope, it started with the team on Mars. They had some great, comical lines of dialogue; showing how good their friendship with one another is. Then they realised there was a storm, then the rest of the crew got on the escape shuttle, as they thought mark was dead due to debris knocking him away and a metal pipe having damaged his vital system. Then Mark woke up. That allowed us to really focus on Watney, but also on what was happening on Earth. Which was awesome because I thought that was going to be a downside to the film. But no, that was no problem.

The way that the film kept paning from Earth to Mars made it very interesting and I really like seeing the two different sides to the predicament. My only problem with this is that it could get to the point where Mars didn’t appear for a while and it could take you out of it a little. Although it’s not too much of a big deal. 

My only other problem with the film, just something that I found a little weird and maybe a little stupid; was the baby at the end. I just thought that the university scene with Mark was cool, one of the crew returning for the fifth Mars excursion, the captain being at home and relaxed, the chemist with his family (sorry about the forgetting of names) – they were all such nice finalisation points to the characters, and I found those scenes quite beautiful. But when we saw the baby ah it was just a little over the top. Their romance was too much to the side for them to just magically appear with a child. I would’ve preferred them looking for a house or being in their own house. It’s not a massive problem it was just a choice that I found a little bit interesting and weird. 

Overall, I thought that this was an amazing film with interesting characters and a gripping plot. If you haven’t already; I would defiantly advice watching it. 

Thanks for reading šŸ™‚