Tags

, , , ,

The Zygon Inversion

Spoilers

Hello, it’s Elliott, and welcome to my, double, review of the Series 9 two-parter; The Zygon Invasion / The Zygon Inversion. I do have to say, I think that this has been my favourite storyarch of the series so far; I have loved the whole series, however this was pretty much flawless, for me. There were that many great moments throughout, therefore I want to point them all out.

The beginning of this really set up the connectivity between this and The Day of the Doctor, which was only lacking in the round-off to the Zygon sub-plot, therefore, it was amazing that we got to see it properly finished here.

The concept of the two Osgood’s was one that I thought was done very well, and it meant that they could still have the, amazing, character; without completely skipping around the previous decision of having her killed. Therefore, it didn’t feel like a cop-out decision, and still made it so that the decision still did matter.

The global scale of The Zygon Invasion was done very well and made it feel as though this was a real invasion of Earth. It felt truly global and I loved that factor.

The scene between the soldier and the Zygon, posing as his mother, was truly gripping and I was very impressed with the acting. That scene really harnessed (get it? as it’s written by Peter Harness, I’m hilarious, I know) the full power of the Zygons, and really set up their threat.

Bonnie, Bonnie was a pretty amazing part of this episode. She allowed Jenna Coleman to truly work her magic. Her scenes, especially the ones between her and Clara, were truly amazing and she was a great addition to the episode. I also love how she became Osgood’s twin at the end. It was a great bit of character development. And I loved the concept of Clara still being able to affect her, yet not fully.

The Zygon that was transformed into it’s true form was a really awful (as in cruel and terrible, not badly written). I really found it chilling that the Zygon was driven to suicide because of that – this story really brought in some dark themes.

And, last but not least, that final speech, the final stand-off between the humans and the Zygons, the Doctor’s peacekeeping, was absolutely mind-blowing. The way that he makes them think, the way that he uses his personal heart-ache, his personal torture, to stop them, was amazing. That scene might’ve just finalised the Twelfth Doctor being my favourite Doctor. Seeing the Doctor become truly emotional and to almost collapse in sadness and anger at their stupidity. He was written beautifully in this and I was absolutely captivated, I was almost crying at Peter Capaldi’s performance. This really let us see what drives The Twelfth Doctor, no actually The Doctor as a whole, the desire to save others from the pain he feels. That was just unbelievable and it will stand to be one of my favourite scenes in anything, ever.

Thanks for reading 🙂